Firearms Training & Classes
Split Fire Training Concealed Carry Weapons (CCW) training courses
Our Fundamental & Intermediate
Tactical Handgun Courses currently meet the CCW certification qualifications for most counties in Northern California. All residents of Contra Costa San Francisco or Alameda County, please visit your local Sheriff's website to request your training. Contra Costa and Alameda County does not recognize outside contractors!
You are encouraged to double check the current regulations in your county in order to qualify to receive a CCW.
Solano County https://solanoso.permitium.com/ccw/start
Our Concealed Carry Weapons Course is the course required by the State of California to satisfy the training requirements to earn a Concealed Carry Weapons Permit (CCW). This course will meet the requirements to earn your California permit and will enable legal concealed carry after petitioning with your local Sheriff's department.
The purpose of this Concealed Handgun Training course is to provide training and education for people intending to use a handgun for self-defense. This course will also offer information critical in making good decisions while carrying a concealed handgun, as well as situational awareness, safety, proper storage of firearms, and other legal considerations.
Students will be required to earn a minimum score of 70% on the written (multiple choice) exam and a minimum score of 70% on the practical shooting test using a standard FBI Q Target.
Course Length: Concealed Carry Training
Class time held via Zoom from 7 pm - 9 pm, Wednesday - Friday prior to your range date. 16 Hour class will have a longer Zoom class period.
“As of July 1st, all classes will resume in classroom, on site training. Class time will start at 8:30 and will end at 4:00 p.m.”
Range time is from:
9:00 am - 12:00 pm
Richmond Rod and Gun Club or San Leandro Rifle and Pistol range.
Required every 2 years. To renew your CCW, you will need to attend a 4-hour legal firearms update refresher course. You have to qualify on each gun you want listed on your CCW Permit. Our 4-hour renewal course is done in conjunction with our Intermediate Handgun Course. You'll attend the first 4 hours of the morning session and then qualify. Space is limited so please plan ahead.
There is a 60-day grace period. If you fail to submit your Renewal Application after the 60-day grace period, you will have to start the process over as a New Applicant. Students are Encourage to start the process encourage to start the process 120 days prior to expiration120 days prior to expiration.
Students must provide their own personal carry firearm and ammunition when attending class. Ammo can be also be purchased at the range prior to the shooting portion of class. NO LIVE AMMO IN CLASSROOM!
The possession of a license to carry a concealed weapon is a privilege, not a right, and as such is subject to revocation whenever deemed necessary by either the Sheriff or the California Attorney General's Office.
The possession of a license to carry a concealed weapon does not exempt any individual from criminal prosecution or civil liability, other than the act of carrying the specific firearm within the State of California.
All firearms listed on your CCW application and certificates must be registered in California prior to completion and submitting all instructor paperwork! All who fail to register their firearms will be subject to delay in receiving their CCW.
The authority to carry a concealed weapon (CCW) is set forth in California Penal Code Sections 26150 through 26225. These sections state in part:
- PC 26150 The Sheriff of a County or PC 26155 The Chief or other head of a municipal police department of any city may issue a license upon:
- Proof that the applicant is of good moral character,
- Good cause exists for the issuance,
- The applicant is a resident of the County/City
- The applicant has completed a course of training as described in 26165
(b) may issue that person a license to carry a pistol, revolver, or other firearm capable of being concealed upon the person.
FIREARMS SKILL EXAMINATION:
The course of fire is a 36 round course in which the student will fire 12 rounds from 3 distances: 3 yards, 7 yards, and 15 yards. Students will have 30 seconds to fire their 12 rounds at the 3 and 7 yard lines; 45 seconds are allowed at the 15 yard line. The starting position for each distance is “Standing, Holstered.” At each distance reloads are conducted after the first 6 rounds.
If an equipment malfunction is experienced, the student will need to safely clear the problem and continue shooting. If the proper and safe technique is used and the student clears it correctly but runs out of time, they will be allowed to finish the string of fire from the shooting position and allowed 3 seconds for each remaining round. If the malfunction is major, the firearm can be safely cleared and made ready, the student will be permitted to re-shoot the entire course.
Students will shoot from multiple distances at different time intervals at a paper plate size target. “Students are expected to score no less than 70% of their shots on a target for a passing score.”
Three (3) yard line:
Stage 1: Student will shoot six (6) rounds at center mass then reload and fire six (6) rounds strong hand supported. Total of twelve (12) rounds fired per firearm. This course of fire has a thirty (30) second time limit.
Seven (7) yard line:
Stage 2: Student will shoot six (6) rounds center mass strong hand supported. Reload and fire six (6) additional rounds at center mass strong hand un-supported. Total of twelve (12) rounds fired per firearm. This course of fire has a thirty (30) second time limit.
Targets will be scored immediately following completion of the course. Should a student fail, they will be permitted a second chance. (Failure upon retesting constitutes course failure, and student will be required to enroll in and complete another sixteen-hour CCW firearms course in order to qualify for further testing.)
You are permitted to have up to three (3) firearms listed on your permit. You must pass this examination with each firearms to be listed on your permit.
Payments are non refundable. If you are not able to make it to your reserved date you have the option to attend on a different date. If you are unable to make the second date, no refunds are available. A change of date has to be requested no less than 2 days prior to class in order for change to be honored.
Classes are subject to change due to weather and unexpected circumstances. Locations and other information will be provided at least 2 days prior to class. All participants will be able to attend the next scheduled class without penalty.
Prices for participation are discounted for every additional person added in a single reservation.
NO PERSONAL CHECKS!
CCW RENEWAL 4-HOUR CLASSES
2021 CCW & Renewal Courses. All renewal students must attend 2 days of class via Zoom on Thursday and Friday at 7pm - 9 pm prior to attending at the range. Range time is 9am - 12 pm on either Saturday or Sunday following class training. Please select the Course and Date you’re interested in attending in the right hand column. Early registration guaranties your seat. You must understand that my training course fees are non refundable. You have the option to attend on a different date. If you are unable to make the second date, your refund is no longer available. A change of date has to be requested no less than 2 days prior to class in order for change to be honored.
Solano Sheriff Corrections / Probation, (CCW) Renewal Course ($125.00)
MUST HAVE CURRENT (UNEXPIRED) PERMIT